Ice Age

Ishbel, Neamh and Ruaridh write about their trip to see the Perito Moreno glacier and the facts they found out about glaciers.

What I liked about glaciers! by Neamh MacNeil

One of my favourite parts was when the ice fell off the glacier and there was a tremendous noise. I also like that the top was all knobbly.

Feelings

I felt like I was in the Ice Age film because the glacier was right next to me. I also felt like I was in Antarctica.

042

Facts

  • Glaciers are huge masses of ice that flow like very slow rivers.
  • The glacier I saw was the third biggest in South America and the southern Patagonian ice field.
  • When the ice comes off the glacier it’s called ‘calving’.
  • The glacier I saw has been there as long as the dinosaurs.
  • The outside of the glacier was white but on the inside it was a lovely blue.

The glacier I saw was called Perito Moreno!

Neamh (aged 8)


The Glacier by Ruaridh MacNeil

029

I have seen whales and we saw elephant seals and we saw sea lions. And we saw penguins.

I saw a glacier. The ice was falling down into the water.

Ruaridh (aged 5)


The Wonders of the World by Ishbel MacNeil

Yesterday on the 17th of September 2016 we went to a national park near El Calafate and saw the Perito Moreno glacier. It was longer than I thought but not as tall (it was only 170 metres tall). When we were watching it, huge lumps fell off it and when the ice hit the water it sounded like thunder. I really enjoyed watching ice fall off it. It kept making me jump every time ice fell.

033

It was so amazing. It was not as cold as I had anticipated. I had thousands of layers in my bag and didn’t need to wear my gloves. Whenever I looked at the glacier, it kept making me thirsty because of the water.

Glacier facts

  • Glaciers store 75% of the world’s fresh water.
  • Glaciers are usually divided into two groups – alpine glaciers, which form on mountain sides and more downward through valleys; and continental ice sheets, which spread out and cover large areas.
  • Perito Moreno sees winds that can blow up to speeds of 130 kilometres an hour.

Ishbel (aged 9)

 

 

8 thoughts on “Ice Age

  1. Well done Ishbel, Neamh and Ruaridh on your excellent writing. I’ve learnt a lot of facts about glaciers and thought the photos were great. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. HI Ishbel, Neamh and Ruairidh!
    That glacier looks amazing!
    When I walked on a glacier once in New Zealand I had to wear spiky metal shoes and I slipped over and really hurt my knee!
    Leia and Rosa say hello xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    That looks so fun I really want to go!
    You are so lucky I would give anything to do what you’re doing.Those glaciers look so beautiful. I am very jealous even though I know I should not be!!!!!!!!
    Emilyp xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Que alegría saber de la familia Macneils, todos los días nos acordamos de su grata visita a Las Cabañitas de El Calafate. Son una hermosa familia y les mandamos todo nuestro afecto, Sasha extraña mucho a los niños. Deseamos que sigan teniendo un hermoso viaje. Besos de Eugenia, Jose y Sasha desde El Calafate

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

